Papua is the western half of the island of New Guinea and is distinct from the independent country of Papua New Guinea. It is home to around 312 different tribes, including some uncontacted peoples. Some speak languages completely unrelated to any other in the world. All have suffered greatly under the violent Indonesian occupation dating from 1963.

Source: Papuan Tribes – Survival International

Share This

Share this post with your friends!